The Squeaky Green Machine Meets The Green Goddess

The minute that I saw this recipe I knew I had to make it. Everything about it called out to me, especially the title: Green Goddess Grilled Cheese Sandwich. It sounded like the perfect meal for this Squeaky Green Machine.

After much deliberation and consultation with The Girlfriend, I decided to pair my Green Goddess from Taste Spotting with a spicy red lentil soup from EatingWell. You shouldn’t be surprised to learn that I cut some corners with these recipes.

For the Green Goddess Grilled Cheese Sandwich, I confess that I used premade pesto. I also used herb & garlic goat cheese and Havarti on my local grocery store’s multigrain bakery bread. Next time I make these (and there will definitely be a next time), I’m going to do it on my George Foreman Grill and use more avocado.

I made the spicy red lentil soup the night before and it reheated beautifully. I didn’t have any tomato paste on hand, so I used a package of the Oven-Candied Summer Tomatoes that I had in the freezer. I skipped the spicy oil and just squirted a bunch of srirachi on top. This soup made a tasty lunch the next day when eaten at room temperature, but I wished for some pita or naan for dipping.

The Mother could hardly wait to get her hands on her Green Goddess and I felt the same. I could barely get a picture taken before diving in:

soup and sandwich

4 thoughts on “The Squeaky Green Machine Meets The Green Goddess”

Leave a Reply

