Minnesota Thaws

It’s hard to believe that just a month ago, Minnehaha Falls looked like this:
minnehaha falls

A quick stop over the weekend proved that spring really was here even though I was back in my winter jacket:
minnehaha falls

There was a cold wind was blowing, so I didn’t linger long:
minnehaha falls

But I had to get one last shot, can you see the buds on the trees?
minnehaha falls

Minnehaha Falls is fed by Minnehaha Creek, my favorite stomping ground:
minnehaha creek

We found this gentleman fishing. Great Blue Herons always make me think of little old men when they stand like this:
heron

We kept moving, and found ourselves at Lake Hiawatha, there was still ice on the lake:
lake hiawatha

After a few minutes of shivering in the strong winds, we realized that we weren’t alone:
bald eagle

And neither was he:
juvenile bald eagle

2 thoughts on “Minnesota Thaws”

  1. Wow. This looks sooo much different than when I was there with you and everything was frozen. I want to go back in the summer. When the steps down aren’t quite as treacherous. 🙂

    Like

    1. Sounds like a plan! The steps are all free and clear now, I have a good shot of where you fell next to the foot bridge. We should bow our heads in remembrance of your broken lens hood….

      Like

Leave a Reply

