Weekend Delights: Craft Fair Season, Local Food and Markets

I couldn’t have asked for a better Saturday, it was filled to the brim with motherly love.

The Mother and I started things off with our annual celebration of Craft Fair Season, also known as “November in Minnesota.” We managed to hit four fairs before 1pm and found many treasures. The handmade items were spectacular this year. We purchased beaded jewelry, fabric owls, a charming carved wooden birdhouse ornament, and several calligraphy paintings. And “Grandma’s Attic” was especially good too, I love the cast-offs that no one else wants. Take a look at the new Santa Christmas cookie plate that I found for $1, the porcelain cheese plates and vintage placemats among all of our handmade finds (all under $10!):

craft-finds

After The Mother and I took one last look at our finds, I headed to The Grandma’s house for our weekly visit. She was pretty excited about her new tennis shoes so I had to get a picture. Look at how white they are! I told her she’d have to get to work soon and dirty them up, they were blinding:

tennis shoes
New kicks!

The Mom-In-Law and I had a hot dinner date planned for the evening. We have been wanting to give First Course in south Minneapolis a try for weeks now, and to say that it was spectacular would be an understatement. We relied on the recommendations of our server, and she guided us through a delectable vegetarian meal:

The early bird catches the worm, and we were definitely the lucky birds on our first visit to Victor’s 1959 Café Sunday morning. The Husband and I had heard that it fills up fast, so we were there at 8am when the doors opened. By 8:30, half the tables were filled and by 9, there was a line of people waiting to be seated. I think that this was by far my favorite breakfast yet – next time, however, I need a side of avocado. I also have to mention that I love that they mark vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free options on their menu. It makes things far easier for a vegetarian like me, especially with new menus.

Fueled up and ready to face the day, we headed to the last Kingfield/Futon Farmer’s Market of the year. Minnesotans are hearty, but this final market was held indoors at Bachman’s Garden Center. The last of the crops were in and the vendors were out. We bought scented candles, jam, marmalade, apples, Singing Hills Goat Dairy dilled cheese curds, and this great lip balm by “Worker B” that actually seems to be helping my dry lips (though I’m trying not to get my hopes up too soon).

root vegetables

One of the benefits to being up at the crack of dawn is plenty of time in the day. So after the Farmer’s Market, we started running around town. I was so pleased that it involved a stop at the fabric store – YAY! Everything was on sale and I finally managed to pick up fabric for upstairs curtains and some great remnants that I’m going to try making scarves out of.

On the way home, we came across a field of Canadian Geese. The Husband pulled over so I could try to tiptoe through the goose poop to get some pictures:

canadian geese

This one didn’t seem to appreciate my interest:

goose

And as if the weekend couldn’t get any better, we ended it with our favorite pizza ever – Italian Pie Shoppe. Sorry, Minneapolis, we had to go to St. Paul for that.

pizza

2 thoughts on “Weekend Delights: Craft Fair Season, Local Food and Markets”

Leave a comment